Integrated Crop Management

CCA credit opportunity--June 21

Certified crop advisers (CCAs) can earn 5 hours of credit (2 hours in soil and water management, 1 in crop production, and 2 in pest management) by attending a special CCA morning session and afternoon field day tour at the Southeast Iowa Research and Demonstration Farm near Crawfordsville on June 21.

The morning session will begin at 9:00 a.m. with a presentation by Mahdi Al-Kaisi, Iowa State University Extension agronomist, on "Soils, on Soil Bulk Density and Water Infiltration Rates with Different Tillage Systems." Other topics covered in the morning include "Fungicides--Review of Products and Research Results in Corn and Soybeans" (Daren Mueller, Iowa State University Extension plant pathologist), and "Alternative Crop Research in Iowa" (Jim Fawcett, Iowa State University Extension field crops specialist).

ISU Vice President for Extension Jack Payne will be featured at noon with a presentation on "Celebrating 150 years." Topics covered on the afternoon tour will include "Crop Season Review and Marketing During Volatile Times" (Kevin Van Dee, farm superintendent, and Jim Jensen, Iowa State University Extension farm management specialist), "Fungicides on Corn and Asian Soybean Rust Outlook" (Daren Mueller), "Moving CRP to Crops--Carbon Sequestration Impacts" (Mahdi Al-Kaisi), and "Bt-Rootworm Hybrid Results and Rating Corn Roots" (Patti Anderson, Iowa State University postdoctoral researcher in entomology). Tours will begin at 1:00 p.m.

Registration for CCAs will begin at 8:30 a.m. The registration fee is $50, which includes lunch. Please preregister by calling the Johnson County Extension Office at (319) 337-2145 or send an e-mail to Jim Fawcett ( by June 19 to avoid a $20 late fee. The registration fee can be paid at the door. To reach the research farm, go 1¾ miles south of Crawfordsville on Highway 218, then 2 miles east on G-62, then ¾ mile north.

Jim Fawcett is an extension field crops specialist with responsibilities in Benton, Linn, Jones, Iowa, Johnson, Keokuk, and Washington counties.

This article originally appeared on page 172 of the IC-498(14) -- June 11, 2007 issue.

Source URL: